Customer Service Revealed

Posted on July 18, 2008. Filed under: General | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

I have always had a strong customer service orientation. I have worked many extra long hours to do what is best for my clients and I have done a lot of it above and beyond the call of duty.

But it is not until I started my own business that I came to understand something.

I used to work for an aircraft maintenance shop. The owner and staff were dedicated people. Highly compentent and capable.

There would be times Tony, the owner, would have us stay late working – many times not work that we billed – working to get it right. We would grumble a bit even though we were getting paid wondering what all the fuss was about.

But yesterday I caused a problem on a client’s computer. I believe that it was only partially related to my work (Vista! UGH!) but since I could not PROVE beyond a shadow of a doubt that the problem was not related to the work I did I committed to coming back and working on it until I and the customer was satisfied that the problem was solved.

Now I know why Tony kept us late. When you own a business and your name IS the business you better do it right or not at all.

Regardless of my frustrations with Vista and USB communication issues it is my responsibility to do what ever is required to fix the problem. End of story.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

